Predator SL Logo 512px

Predator SL

Finca Galatzó

Finca Galatzó
The Finca Galatzó has done it to me, already the landscape on the way is a pleasure. Time went by, we were outside and mostly in a good mood. And the nice donkey is the icing on the cake!
0 0 votes
Article Rating

Winter 2021 / 2022 is starting off well. After a rather rainy period when we visited Dinosaur Tours Mallorca, the sun has now been shining for weeks. Yesterday was slightly cloudy, but a brilliant day to look for an outdoor activity with the kids.

Xenia, the best wife of all, came up with the idea of Finca Galatzó.

So I drove there with the kids. The approach via Calvia and Es Capdellá is winding and beautiful. The last short stretch is not for people who are very attached to their cars. No asphalt, lots of potholes. But that is the price of country life ...

Then packed the bikes out of the family carriage and off we went.

Finca Pública Galatzó

What is the Finca Galatzó?

The Finca Galatzó is an old agricultural property that was farmed and later made available to the public by the municipality. The farm roads have been converted into hiking routes and can also be partly climbed by bicycle. But: There is quite a lot of incline and many small stones, as is usual here on Mallorca.

Finca Galatzó

On the way to the manor house there is also one of the small storage huts where the tenants had to deposit the "tithe", as I think it was called in Germany, to their feudal lord. This was the tenth part of the harvest that was due to the owner for the position of the land.

Picnic is the order of the day

At the end, the old manor house appeared majestically. Conveniently, it has a built-in chapel on the right. On the large forecourt, tables and benches are set up for a picnic, and further in front is a kind of small, landscaped park that invites you to linger.

Finca Galatzó

But the real attraction is behind it and it magically draws children in, especially, but not only: A small enclosure with animals. When we were there, there was only one very well-maintained and rather nice donkey standing around and willing to be stroked. A really nice and cute donkey, even if the sentence sounds really funny...

Finca Galatzó

In order not to completely forget the culture, we then took a closer look at the manor house. There, the stations of the upscale peasant life of yesteryear are beautifully renovated. And there is still an uninviting coffee machine. So you'd better bring your stuff with you ...

Finca Galatzó

The old oil mill with the (necessary) explanations and the old kitchen were great. That's probably how it was, real life back then. Very hard, dispensable. But not really full of entertainment ...

Then it was back to the car with the bikes. And in a cloud of dust towards civilisation.

Suitable for children?

Absolutely suitable as a short excursion even with smaller children on foot. Prams should be suitable for off-road use. Children's bicycles with smaller children should either be left at home or put up with grumbling on small sections, depending on the skills and willpower of the rascals. For older children or adults, the hiking trails are probably much more interesting. I suspect that they are not really suitable for biking, but I have not yet been able to try them out. If you know, please leave a comment!

Finca Galatzó
5/5

It was fun, the landscape is amazing. The time went by, we were outside and mostly in a good mood. I give it 5 stars. 

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify me at
guest
0 Comments
Inline feedbacks
View all comments

More
Worth reading

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

stay up to date

We send a newsletter every 1-2 months. You can revoke your consent at any time. What we do with your data, we explain in our privacy policy.

Predator SL Logo 512px

Predator SL

Finca Galatzó

Finca Galatzó
Die Finca Galatzó hat es mir angetan, schon die Landschaft auf dem Weg ist ein Genuß. Die Zeit ging rum, wir waren draußen und meistens gut gelaunt. Und der nette Esel ist das i-Tüpfelchen!

Der Winter 2021 / 2022 läßt sich gut an. Nach einer ziemlich regenreichen Periode, in der wir die Dinosaur Tours Mallorca besucht hatten, schien jetzt wochenlang die Sonne. Gestern war es zwar leicht bewölkt, aber ein genialer Tag, um mit den Kindern eine Outdoor Aktivität zu suchen.

Xenia, die beste Ehefrau von Allen, hatte die Idee mit der Finca Galatzó.

Also fuhr ich mit den Kids dorthin. Die Anfahrt über Calvia und Es Capdellá kurvenreich und wunderschön. Das letzte kurze Teilstück nichts für Leute, die sehr an ihrem Auto hängen. Kein Asphalt, viele Schlaglöcher. Aber das ist der Preis des Landlebens …

Dann die Fahrräder aus der Familienkutsche gepackt und los.

Finca Pública Galatzó

Was ist die Finca Galatzó?

Die Finca Galatzó ist ein altes landwirtschaftliches Anwesen, das bewirtschaftet wurde und später der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung gestellt worden ist von der Gemeinde. Die Wirtschaftswege sind in Wanderrouten umfunktioniert worden und können teilweise auch mit dem Fahrrad erklommen werden. Aber: Es ist teilweise ganz schön viel Steigung und viele Steinchen, wie das hier auf Mallorca eben üblich ist.

Finca Galatzó

Auf dem Weg zum Herrenhaus findet sich auch eine der kleinen Lagerhütten, in dem die Pächter ihrem Lehensherrn den „Zehnt“, wie es in Deutschland glaube ich hieß, deponieren mussten. Das war der zehnte Teil der Ernte, der dem Eigentümer zustand für die Stellung des Grund und Bodens.

Picknick ist angesagt

Am Ende tauchte dann majestätisch das alte Herrenhaus auf. Praktischerweise gleich mit eingebauter Kapelle auf der rechten Seite. Auf dem großen Vorplatz sind Tische und Bänke für ein Picknick aufgebaut, weiter davor eine Art kleiner angelegter Park, der zum Verweilen einlädt.

Finca Galatzó

Aber die eigentliche Attraktion liegt dahinter und zieht vor allem, aber nicht nur, die Kinder magisch an: Ein kleines Gehege mit Tieren. Als wir dort waren, stand nur ein sehr gepflegter und ziemlich netter Esel herum und ließ sich bereitwillig streicheln. Ein wirklich netter und niedlicher Esel, auch wenn der Satz echt komisch klingt…

Finca Galatzó

Um die Kultur nicht völlig zu vergessen, haben wir dann das Herrenhaus näher unter die Lupe genommen. Da sind die Stationen des gehobenen bäuerlichen Lebens von früher schön renoviert vorgestellt. Und es gibt noch einen wenig einladenden Kaffeeautomaten. Also bringt Euch lieber Euer Zeug mit …

Finca Galatzó

Toll war die alte Ölmühle mit den (notwendigen) Erklärungen und die alte Küche. Wahrscheinlich war es eben so, das echte Leben damals. Sehr hart, entbehrlich. Aber nicht wirklich voller Entertainment …

Danach gings mit den Rädern wieder zurück zum Auto. Und in einer Staubwolke Richtung Zivilisation.

Kindertauglich?

Als kleiner Ausflug auch mit kleineren Kindern zu Fuß absolut geeignet. Kinderwägen sollten „offroad“-tauglich sein. Kinderfahrräder bei kleineren Kindern je nach Geschick und Willensstärke der Racker entweder lieber zuhause lassen oder gegebenenfalls Gemotze auf kleinen Teilstücken ertragen. Für ältere Kinder oder Erwachsene sind die Wanderstrecken wahrscheinlich viel interessanter. Ich vermute, sie sind nicht wirklich bike – tauglich, habe das bisher aber nicht ausprobieren können. Wenn Ihr es wißt, laßt einen Kommentar dazu da bitte!

Finca Galatzó
5/5

Spaß gemacht hat es, die Landschaft ist der Hammer. Die Zeit ging rum, wir waren draußen und meistens gut gelaunt. Von mir gibt es hier 5 Sterne. 

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Mehr
Lesenswertes